Go down


Post by Joshuareid36 on Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:44 pm


The Golden Rule: Don't answer a question unless you're 100% sure you're correct. Don't ask a question unless you have THOROUGHLY read both this sticky and checked KONAMI's Rule Book.

The Orange Rule: Every time you ask how does Honest or Kalut the Moon Shadow work without reading The Damage Step chart in this sticky, many cute kitties die.

The Magenta Rule: Every time you ask how Skill Drain works without reading SCtheOnly thread first then I will have the dead kittens souls come eat you.

The Cyan Rule: Every time you ask if Rescue Cat works under Skill Drain then you will just have to deal with the God of Baby Monk Seals. I'm sorry but it does work, so stop asking.

The Brown Rule: Every time you ask if you can chain to a summon, Chain to an attack, or can I Call Of The Haunted Jinzo? Then you are a bad person for killing innocent animals.

The Blue Rule: Every time you ask if I can call priority with this ignition or trigger effect without reading this sticky first lets just say no kitten will see adulthood, and baby monk seals will get slaughtered by YGO! hating Eskimos.

Please save the kittens and not ask questions that aren't already posted here! Please support Masterdramon's obsession with baby monk seals and support them!!!! We don't want cute little seals dying!


1 ) Anything said by KONAMI
2 ) Netrep
3 ) This sticky
4 ) Rulings you heard form real judges
5 ) Rulings given from knowledgeable forum members here on Pojo
6 ) Rulings given to you by your local tournament judges
7 ) Rulings extrapolated from the video games
8 ) Rulings given to you by your friends who claim they're judges
9 ) Rulings given to you by your ******ed, homeless friends
10 ) Rulings extrapolated from the TV show

What can Solemn Judgment / Horn of Heaven and Thunder King Rai-Oh negate?

Always keep in mind these three cards does not negates effects of any kind. Whenever summoning a monster is the effect of a Spell/Trap/Monster card, you won't be able to use any of these three cards to negate the summon of a monster.

All these three cards have the same ability to negate "inherent" summons. This means, summons that are built in to the monster, and Special Summons it without activating an effect nor using the chain. Inherent summons ain't effects. Most cards that contains a text that explains "this is how you summon this monster" written on the card are inherent summons, like Cyber Dragon, Trap Eater, Heraklinos, etc.

The Special Summon of a monster with the help of another card cannot be negated by any these three cards. So you cannot use them against a monster Special Summoned by any card that revives monsters, any Ritual Spell Card, any card that Special summons Fusion Monsters, "Marauding Captain," "Spear Cretin," "Cyber Jar," and monsters who recruits other monsters from your deck: "Giant Rat", "Pyramid Turtle", etc.

Solemn Judgment it's a bit different, 'cause can be used directly against spell and trap cards whose effect summons a monster. However, note in this case, you are chaining to negate the activation of the Spell/Trap card, not against it's effects or the Special Summon. For example, if Monster Reborn is activated, you can chain Solemn Judgment to negate the activation of Monster Reborn. If you allow Monster Reborn to be activated, you will no longer be able to negate the Special Summon or the effects of Monster Reborn.

-You CANNOT use "Horn of Heaven", "Solemn Judgment" or "Thunder King Rai-Oh" to negate the Special Summon of "Stardust Dragon" or "Gorz Emissary of The Afterlife" when they are Special Summoned by their own effects. You cannot use this cards to negate "Gladiator Beasts" tag effect.

-You CAN use "Horn of Heaven" "Solemn Judgment" and "Thunder King Rai Oh" to negate the Special Summons of monsters like "Dark Necrofear," "Dark Creator," "Dark Armed Dragon" etc. when they are special summoned from the hand.

-You CAN use "Horn of Heaven" and "Solemn Judgment" to negate a Normal Summon, Tribute Summon or Flip-Summon of a monster. Whenever you negate a monster's summon, the monster is treated as if it never were on the field, even if the card is physically there, so if the monster has an effect that activates when the monster is Normal Summoned or Flip-Summoned, it's effect won't activate.

-So if a player was to Normal Summon a "Zaborg, The Thunder Monarch," activating "Solemn Judgment " or "Horn of Heaven" in response to negate the Summon would prevent the Monarch's effect effect from activating. (This is because the monster would not be successfully Summoned)

-If my opponent Flip-Summons a "Cyber Jar," I can use "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment " to negate the Flip-Summon. I cannot wait and use either of these cards against the monsters that would be Special Summoned from the efect of the "Cyber Jar." I need to stop the "Cyber Jar" itself.

What can Royal Oppression negate?

Being a continuous type card with an ignition-like effect, Royal Oppression it's quite different than Solemn Judgment / Horn of Heaven and Thunder King Rai-Oh.

First of all, being continuous, Royal Oppression must remain face up on the field at the time it's effect resolves. If it's effect is activated, and "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to destroy "Royal Oppression", then the effect Oppression disappears and the Special Summon will not be negated.

You can initially activate Royal Oppression and negate a monster's Special Summon or the effect that would Special Summon a monster at the same time, but you won't be able to use Oppression's effect a second time on the same chain 'cause it's initial activation has not resolved yet.

Royal Oppression or it's effect cannot be activated at Damage Step.

The mayor difference between Solemn Judgment, Horn of Heaven, Thunder King Rai-Oh and Royal Oppression is this card can negate a monster's Special Summon and/or the effect that summons a monster, and destroy either the monster or the card whose effect would summon a monster. This means Royal Oppression has the additional ability to negate Spell, Trap, and Monster's effects that would summon a monster. However, same as Solemn Judgment, if you want to negate a card whose effect Special Summons monsters, you must chain Royal Oppression directly to the activation of the card's effect. For example, if Zombie Master's effect is activated, you must chain to his effect before the monster is summoned. If you allow Zombie Master to summon a monster, you will no longer be able to negate the Special Summon or the effects of Zombie Master. At that time, his effect has resolved and the summons would be Successful.

Things that can be activated in the damage step:

1. Counter Trap Cards
2. Spell Speed 2 Effects that alter the ATK/DEF of monsters
3. Effects that specify activation timings within the Damage Step
4. Quick Effect (Multi-Trigger) Monster Effects that negate the activation of a card/effect
5. "Attack and Receive", "Hero Signal", "Chthonian Blast", "Desrook Archfiend", "Michizure", "Null and Void", and "Numinous Healer"


Monster effects in the Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME come in 5 kinds:
Continuous Effects, Ignition Effects, Trigger Effects, Quick effects, and Flip Effects. It is important to understand these 5 kinds
of effects in order to understand other important rules like 'priority'
and 'missing the timing'.

Continuous Effects are those that are always in effect while the monster
remains face-up on the field. Examples include "Jinzo" and "Witch's
Apprentice". (Some Continuous Effects also apply while the monster is
face-down, such as "Kaiser Seahorse", but these are exceptions.) You
cannot chain to Continuous Effects because they never activate. They are
always in effect from the moment the monster is successfully Summoned or
otherwise placed face-up (etc.) on the field.

Ignition Effects are effects that: (a) you can only activate during Main
Phase 1 or 2 of your turn, (b) that you choose when to activate, and (c)
that you are never required to activate. Note that an Ignition Effect
does not necessarily involve having to pay a "cost", so the old term
"Cost Effect"was a misnomer. Examples of Ignition Effects include "Time
Wizard", "Cannon Soldier", "Barrel Dragon", "Chaos Emperor Dragon -
Envoy of the End", the ability of "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the
Beginning" to remove a monster from play, the ability to Special Summon
"Andro Sphinx" and "Sphinx Teleia" using the effects written on those
cards, and the ability of "Relinquished" to equip itself with an
opponent's Monster Card. Ignition Effects are Spell Speed 1 and their
activation can be chained to.

Trigger Effects are effects that require a specific condition (or
'trigger') to happen in order to activate. Some Trigger Effects are
mandatory: when the trigger happens, then the Trigger Effect activates.
Examples of mandatory Trigger Effects include "Sangan", "Witch of the
Black Forest", "White Magical Hat", and "Molten Zombie". Other Trigger
Effects are optional, and you can choose whether or not to activate the
effect when the trigger happens. Examples of optional Trigger Effects
include "Mystic Tomato" and "Giant Rat", "Don Zaloog", and the ability
of "Dark Magician of Chaos" to add a Spell Card to your hand when it is
Summoned. If you do not activate an optional Trigger Effect when the
trigger happens, then you cannot activate it later unless the trigger
happens again. (You have to use the Trigger Effect when you have the
opportunity, or else lose it.)

Trigger Effects are Spell Speed 1, but can activate outside of your Main
Phase 1 or 2, and can even activate during your opponent's turn, as long
as the trigger condition is met (for example, you can activate the
effect of "Mystic Tomato" if destroyed as a result of battle during your
opponent's Battle Phase)

Quick Effects are monster effects that are Spell Speed 2. It's
very important to understand that it is not decided that a monster is
Quick effects, which therefore gives it a Spell Speed of 2. Instead, you
can identify a monster as Quick Effects because it has an effect that
obviously makes it Spell Speed 2. This classifies it as Quick effects.

Or, put more simply: these effects are not Spell Speed 2 because they
are Quick Effects. Instead, they are Quick effects
because they are Spell Speed 2.

You can recognize an effect as a Quick Effect using 3 tests

Test #1: Is it something that can be chained to another card? Then it's
a quick Effect.

Examples: "Dark Paladin", "Maryokutai", and "Sorcerer of Dark Magic" all
have effects that must be chained to the activation of a Spell or Trap
Card. In order for these effects to work, you must chain them. Since you
cannot chain a Spell Speed 1 effect, these effects must be Spell Speed
2. Therefore they are quick Effects.

Test #2: Is it something that is used during the Battle Phase, and is
not a Trigger Effect? Then it's a quick Effect.

Examples: "Injection Fairy Lily" and "Sanga of the Thunder" have effects
that are activated during the Battle Phase. They don't have specific
triggers (like "Mystic Tomato" does), so they are not Trigger Effects.
They can't be Ignition Effects because you can activate them outside of
Main Phase 1 or 2. They're not Continuous Effects. Therefore, they must
be quick Effects.

Test #3: Is it an effect used from your hand? Then it's a quick

Examples: "Kuriboh" and "Desrook Archfiend" are discarded from your
hand. Therefore they are quick Effects. (Note that "Thunder
Dragon" can only be activated during your Main Phase, according to its
text, so it is an Ignition Effect instead.)

Quick effects can be chained to.

Flip Effects are identified by "FLIP:" in front of the effect in the
card text. They only activate when the monster is flipped face-up. Flip
Effects are Spell Speed 1.


Posts : 20
Join date : 2017-06-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum